You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 17, 2014.

The tomato plants are all in 6" pots now. Look at how big they are! And hairy, too. Oh my.

The tomato plants are all in 6″ pots now. Look at how big they are! And hairy, too. Oh my.

The tomatoes are now calling our unfinished loft home. I put four shop lights up there on a timer and lined the walls with aluminum foil to increase light to the plants. It's a bit noisy with the fan going, but the fan doesn't go all day.

The tomatoes are now calling our unfinished loft home. I put four shop lights up there on a timer and lined the walls with aluminum foil to increase light to the plants. It’s a bit noisy with the fan going, but the fan doesn’t go all day.

Celery seedlings are nearly big enough to thin out to one per cell. Behind them are some eggplants that are going nuts. To the side are the brassicas.

Celery seedlings are nearly big enough to thin out to one per cell. Behind them are some eggplants that are going nuts. To the side are the brassicas.

Rice is touching the lights. Oh, lookit that! I have a bulb out! Oops. I'll get on that after I finish this blog.

Rice is touching the lights. Oh, lookit that! I have a bulb out! Oops. I’ll get on that after I finish this blog.

Three trays of basil, thyme, marjoram, and sage. Surrounded by crazy peppers that really really really want to go outside! I'm already picking off flowers.

Three trays of basil, thyme, marjoram, and sage. Surrounded by crazy peppers that really really really want to go outside! I’m already picking off flowers.

Some tomatoes are in the windows. They kinda love it there, so there they shall stay.

Some tomatoes are in the windows. They kinda love it there, so there they shall stay.

The asparagus. Oh me oh my.

The asparagus. Oh me oh my.

My son brought home two apple seeds from an apple he ate at school. They took about three weeks to germinate, and now each of the two that sprouted have a few leaves. I'm amazed they came up at all, and eager to see if they flower and fruit in a few years.

My son brought home two apple seeds from an apple he ate at school. They took about three weeks to germinate, and now each of the two that sprouted have a few leaves. I’m amazed they came up at all, and eager to see if they flower and fruit in a few years.

Although he doesn't know it yet, my husband bought me Easter tulips. Thank you, honey! It brightened my day to put these on the island!

Although he doesn’t know it yet, my husband bought me Easter tulips. Thank you, honey! It brightened my day to put these on the island!

Although today started out rough (as in 7″ of the white, fluffy stuff rough), it finished off in the 40’s and pretty decent outside. Most of the snow we got this morning has already melted. Hopefully it will be gone and absorbed into the ground before this weekend. I really would like to do an egg hunt outside for the kids and maybe clean up the firepit to have a little fire. I’ve already got all the fixin’s for s’mores waiting in the wings.

Last weekend I went to a local farmer’s market to sell some of my excess tomatoes and peppers. I did pretty good. I sold three flats worth, making about $10 an hour for the time I spent. And they said that was a slow day because it was snowing and raining! I can’t make it to the one this weekend, even though many of the customers said they would be back for more since I quickly sold out of a few varieties. Our youngest son turns 6 this weekend, and I scheduled the party right in the middle of the farmer’s market. Oh well. I’ll definitely be going back there next weekend. There’s no way I’m going to throw the other 400 tomato and pepper plants into our garden! I need to unload them. If you are in the Menominee, Michigan area, stop by and see me 9am-noon on Saturdays. Except this one, of course. It’s a great little market! As soon as the Stephenson, Mi and Marinette, Wi markets open I’ll also sign up to be a vendor at those as well. I might even be working a stand for a nearby farm if I sell all my stuff. Heck, I’ll go to these even when I’m not selling because the people are awesome. They are definitely my kind of folks – down to earth, gardeners, bakers, craftsmen, wood workers, farmers… they are a breath of fresh air after dealing with so many city people.

This next week I’ll be starting to plant marigolds and other flowers for around the house and garden. I’m planting extra of everything because I had such interest in my plants at the market. Made me fell really good about my skills to have actual farmers telling me that my plants looked like they came from a professional greenhouse. Ha! If only they could see my scrappy shelves and tin-foiled loft!

And now, if you’ve made it this far, I’m going to let you in on some super secret good news. My husband was offered a position with a top-notch local employer! Yes! He accepted, and should be coming home in the next few weeks! Woohoo! We can’t wait to have Daddy home again! More exclamation points!!!

April 2014
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 56,117 hits