So the first step to owning land and building a house is to have money. My husband and I have worked our way out of a lot of debt already. We have yet to pay off one final credit card, a deed, our car loan, and my student loans. We have no mortgage, as we are living in an apartment. It sounds like a lot that we still have to pay down, but we’re halfway there. With the economy as bad as it is now, I’m proud that we are still able to work on our debt at all. I’m guessing we’ll be able to pay off at least the card and deed by next summer, and then we can start saving up for our land.

Of course, there are also a lot of supplies and tools we’ll need for when we get our land. We already have some things: wagon, saws, chainsaw, misc woodworking tools, wheelbarrow, rakes, shovels, lawn mower, etc. But there are some big purchases we’ll also have to save up for, like a small tractor and implements. We aren’t all about buying everything new, like some “homesteaders.” We know about farm auctions, classified ads, and word of mouth advertising. Craig’s list has also become a good place to find cheap items. When we build a house, we’ll buy new where it counts, but plan on going to the Habitat for Humanity Restore and farm auctions for some used materials like windows. Our first home on the land is most likely going to start out as a little shack. I don’t mind, because it will be ours. I really hope we can pay as we go, and that if we do take out a loan we can pay it off very quickly.

One of our main goals in all of this is to stay as debt-free as possible. Being in debt to another person is like being enslaved, and we have had enough of that.

I have worked in the past, when I had family near that could take care of the kids. But now we live far away from any family members that could help. My husband wants me to get a job – something in the evening so he can watch the kids, or so we don’t have to waste all of my income on daycare. I think it’s a great idea, except for the fact that his company has him travelling out of state for a week at a time at the drop of a hat. Honestly, sometimes we only get an hours notice to get him to the airport. And all that travelling gets him extra pay, extra overtime. He’s making more with that than I would ever make working full time, much less part time.

So for now, we’ll just continue on the same way we have been. It’s slow going, but we’ll get there eventually.

