So this is my first post. My first EVER blog. I swore I would never do this, yet here I am.

I started this blog to chronicle my journey from awkward citified gal to official country woman. This is a process that will take many years. It’s been a life goal of mine for quite some time now. At first, I just thought this was a phase that every young woman goes through. Get married, have kids, dream of living in the country. But for me, it’s so much more. I have filled hundreds of pages of graph paper with layouts of houses, cabins, shacks, chicken coops, barns, garden layouts, and little project ideas that I have picked up here and there. I have joined forums that are all about homesteading, preparedness, living sustainably, gardening, chickens, goats, and intentional communities. If there’s a book on canning, you can bet I either have it or have read through it at the library. Construction, alternative energy, permaculture, and organic promoting websites all have their spaces in my favorites list.

I have even made extensive lists of supplies that we’ll need, things I’d like to grow in my gardens, companies that have good customer reviews (like Husqvarna), seed catalogs, animal breeds that I’d like to try raising, and what I require of our future plot of land.

In short, this “phase” has become an obsession. I dream about it at night, and plan for it all day long. I will achieve it.

In the meantime, I’ll blog about it. I’ll regail my nonexistant audience with my goals and silly lists. And I will also post links. Lots of links. To other blogs and forums, as well as to products that I am interested in. This blog will become my place to ramble. My place to dream. My place to plan.

I look forward to this journey to becoming a homesteading pro. Oh, and by the way… I’m an atheist.

