This is one of my all-time favorite songs. It’s called Imagine, by John Lennon.

Imagine there’s no Heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace

You may say that I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world

You may say that I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

I am definitely a dreamer. I dream that someday I will live in a small, close-knit intentional community with other people and families who share the same goals as us. I dream that I will be able to raise my own fruits, vegetables, and livestock. I dream of living sustainably, and teaching our children how to live ecologically sound and economically smart. I dream of small fields of wheat, rye, hay, corn, and barley. I dream of neighbors getting together for a weekly meal. I dream of an environment for our children that is free from superstition and hysteria, where their minds can soar.

I know I have wrote¬†about intentional communities before, but it’s an idea that needs repeating every now and then. I have no illusions that everything would be perfect in such a community, but if we were able to find other people with stout hearts and strong minds then I’m sure we’d be able to make it through just about anything. This isn’t all about lessening our carbon footprint. I mean, if that happens then great, but that’s not why we want to live this way. We are separated from our families by more than distance, so we’d very much like to make a new one we can be close to. We would like to think of ourselves as independent and capable, by separating ourselves from the mainstream and the grid. We would like to help others, whether by sharing resources or teaching what we know. Conversely, we would also like to be helped, to have more than just our two minds available for insights.

Yes, I have thought through many of the details for how an intentional community can be accomplished, what it will be like, and when it would happen… but most of it is just a dream until we can find another person/family who is interested. I don’t want to be part of a community where there is an identified leader, a strict set of plans, and no wiggle room for individuality and creativity. We are very open-to-ideas sort of people, so this intentional community idea is wide open for outside opinions. We know what we want for ourselves, but we’d love to be able to share such a bounty with others.

 

