We got our first seed catalogs in the mail, and there’s one in particular that I am very excited about. It’s from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds, a company that only sells heirloom (aka non-hybrid) varieties. It’s the only one I have heard of that has taken such a bold stance against GMO’s, and I am thinking that is the kind of company that I would like to support. So, after browsing through their catalog and their online store, I came up with a wish list of varieties I would like to try.

Guess how much my wish list would cost? $324!! Ouch and a half. So I did some paring. I cut it in half, and now we are down to a more reasonable $144. That will still give us a lot of produce, but with very little variety. I’m excited to be able to get heirloom seeds, because this means that with any luck I’ll be able to save them for the next year or two. I have some experience saving seeds. I know how to do beans, peas, corn, tomatoes, peppers, squash, onions, and some herbs. However, I have no experience with things like eggplant and carrots. Carrots sound like a lot of fun, though, from what I have been reading. Since they are a biennial crop, I’ll have to save a couple dozen carrots from this year’s haul, replant the entire roots next spring, and wait for the flower heads to form and wither.

So, would you like to know what varieties I have decided on? I thought you might be curious. Here is my pared-down list in alphabetical order by vegetable:

  • Artichoke – Violetta Precoce
  • Beans – Contender, Dragon’s Tongue, Jacob’s Cattle, Purple Podded Pole, King of the Garden Lima, Thai #3 Extra Long
  • Beetroot – Albino Beet
  • Broccoli – Waltham 29
  • Brussels Sprouts – Long Island Improved
  • Cabbage – Couer de Bouef des Vertus
  • Carrots – Amarillo, St. Valery
  • Cauliflower – Purple of Sicily
  • Celery – Tendercrisp
  • Corn – Cherokee Long Ear Popcorn, Country Gentleman Sweetcorn, Wade’s Giant Indian Corn
  • Cucumber – Delicatesse, Parisien Pickling
  • Eggplant – Casper, Listada de Gandia
  • Garden Berries – Wonderberry
  • Gourd – Birdhouse
  • Grain – Rice Blue Bonnet
  • Kohlrabi – Early White Vienna
  • Leek – Giant Musselburgh
  • Melons – Golden Honeymoon, Green Machine, Collective Farm Woman
  • Onions – Jaune Paille des Vertus
  • Parsnips – Hollow Crown
  • Peas – Alaska Garden, Oregon Sugar Pod II Snow
  • Peppers (hot) – Cayenne Long Thin, Craig’s Grange Jalapeno
  • Peppers (sweet) – California Wonder, King of the North, Purple Beauty, Yellow Monster
  • Rhubarb – Victoria
  • Rutabegas – American Purple Top
  • Squash (summer) – White Scallop, Golden Zucchini
  • Squash (winter) – Connecticut Field Pumpkin, Gill’s Golden Pippin Acorn, New England Sugar Pie
  • Tomatoes – Aunt Ruby’s German Green, Golden Sunrise, Brandywine, Paul Robeson, Amish Paste, Jujube Cherry, Big Rainbow, Cream Sausage, Roman Candle
  • Watermelon – Moon and Stars, Cream of Saskatchewan

I also want to get a few flowers for decoration and eating purposes. These are the flowers I will order this year:

  • Mammoth Grey Sunflower
  • Blue Reflections Sweet Pea
  • Cardinal Climber Morning Glory
  • Burpee Rose Giant Cactus Zinnia

So that’s it. Now that you can see my pared down list, can you imagine what was on my big wish list? Haha! I’m such a nut for variety!

I showed you mine, now you show me yours. What will you be growing this year?

