Saturday, February 27, 2010

We had a wonderful time last night, thanks to Grandma and Grandpa. They took the kids, despite the horrible driving weather, and freed up my husband and me for a date night. We went out to a very nice restaurant that we would never attempt to go to with the kids, and then we browsed a book store. It may sound boring to some, but we are huge fans of books. I’d compare my love of books to a chocaholics love of chocolate. When I see a bookstore, I automatically turn to go in it. I love walking down the sundry aisles looking at all of the different titles. I enjoy perusing through all of the different authors names, reading the dust jackets for a quick description of the book, and feeling the different textures of the book covers as I run my hand down the row. I loved having the time last night to actually plop down in the middle of the aisle with whatever book my hand happened upon to flip through the pages and read small excerpts. It was great to be able to pick up a book with lots of beautiful pictures and actually be able to study the pictures in detail before replacing the book on the shelf. With the kids, I’m lucky if I even get to read a title in passing, and I usually forget about it as soon as it’s out of sight because the kids? They don’t like stopping in a boring book store when there’s so much room to run around and explore, so many things to knock off of shelves, and so many ways to make Mama’s heart falter and nerves twitch.

If we were rich, I imagine we would have an entire room dedicated to books. We would have an entire section dedicated to Sci-Fi and Fantasy, as I think that is our favorite genre out of them all. Then we would have a corner especially for children’s books, with a comfy place to sit and a soft rug to lay on. The rest of the room would be dedicated to books on gardening, woodworking, house building, stone-laying, food preservation, recipes, US history, biographies of influential people in history, livestock and bee keeping, composting, knitting and sewing, art and museums, animals from around the world, genetics, robotics, firearms, atheism, alternative energy, quilting, decorating, and so much more! I love books, and I hope to pass that enthusiasm onto our children. Books open up new worlds, unlock interesting and useful knowledge, and provide adventure even on the gloomiest of gloomy days. I suppose if we were rich, we would also be sure to provide books for the less privileged children of the community as well. Everyone should have the chance to escape in a book, no matter their background.

Right now I am rereading the Inheritance series by Christopher Paolini. I have just finished the first book, Eragon, and am impatiently waiting for the next, Eldest, to come in to our library through the inter-library loan system. I’m also reading through a book of vegetable recipes, copying down new and tasty-sounding ones for this summer’s fresh produce. If I had to pick a favorite book I don’t know what it would be. Sometimes it’s the Lord of the Ring series. Sometimes it’s something by Jane Austen. At others, it’s my book of poems by Percy Bysshe Shelley. And, of course, the newly popular Twilight series. Who wouldn’t swoon over a book with a character like Edward Cullen? Some other authors I adore are Michael Crichton, Robin Cook, Orson Scott Card, Piers Anthony, and J.K. Rowling. If I were to list all of the ones I enjoy reading, this would become a very tiresome and tedious blog entry. Suffice it to say, I love to read.

What’s your favorite book?

……………………………

Sunday, February 28, 2010

We are sitting here watching the closing ceremony of the Winter Olympics, and it’s really nice to see all of the athletes getting together and having a good time. Earlier, we watched the hockey game where the US lost to Canada. I was quite upset at the end of that. No, not because the US team lost, but because the US team won. They won the Silver. But by the way they reacted after the final goal was scored, you’d think someone had died. No smiles. No patting each other on the back or turning to their coach or teammates to tell them what a great job they did. I’ve seen happier funerals.

Why is it that so many people are disappointed by being just shy of the best? Why can’t we accept less than perfection as just fine? I guess I really don’t have a lot more to say without sounding like I’m throwing a tantrum. Good job, team USA. Really. Silver is amazing, and your fellow citizens are very proud of everything you accomplished.

Of course, hockey wasn’t the only event that the US did well in, and I’d just like to say that I am very impressed with the talent that showed through. Go, USA!

On another note, we had a bit of a situation with the chicks this morning. One of the buffs had a broken tail feather that was bleeding quite profusely. Not only were the other chicks picking on her, but she kept trying to preen the broken feather ends and getting blood all over her beak and wing feathers. I had no idea what to do about the bleeding, but I knew we had to get her out of the range of the other chicks’ beaks. I put her in a separate box with her own food, water, and heat lamp. Then I called the local vet, whose voice mail gave me the number for the MSU emergency vet line. After telling the woman who answered my problem, she said, “A chicken? Oh, I don’t know if anyone here knows anything about chickens.” Seriously?! A chicken is a bird. Just a bird. They finally found a guy, and although he sounded kind of unsure of himself, he recommended bandaging the bleeding area then putting a cone around the neck of the hurt bird so she couldn’t peck at herself. Brilliant. How on earth am I supposed to bandage a bleeding tail feather on a bird no bigger than my fist? On a very active, wriggly, fidgeting, peck-crazy bird who poops every ten seconds? Yeah, I didn’t even attempt to bandage her, but I did clean it up as best I could with a warm washrag. Now for the funny part. I did the cone. Yep, this poor little chicky had a cone around her head.

At first she was miserable. She lost all sense of balance, kept running into the walls of the box, tried kicking and wiggling it off. Eventually she gave up on removing it and just laid down to go to sleep. But, being the fussy, overprotective mama I am, I made her drink a few cc’s of sugar water through a medicine dropper since she couldn’t fit her cone into the waterer. Oh, the poor thing! She looked so silly. Well, after a good little nap, the blood had stopped flowing, so I cut the cone off to let her eat, drink, and preen. She seems to be doing better, but I’m still going to keep her separate for the next day or two. I’d like to see her all cleaned up and blood-free before I put her back into the fray with the other chicks.

That’s all for now. Toodles!

