Ok, yeah, I realize now after I just typed the heading of this post that that line is from a very religious song, but I’m singing it in my head with a few different words:

Oh, happy day (Oh, happy day)
Oh, happy day! (Oh, happy day)
When I bought (When I bought)
Oh, when I bought (When I bought)
A new riding mower! (Oh, happy day)

Yep, I lucked out today. I packed up the boys in the van, then we headed out to the store to look at printers for our computer. (We haven’t had a printer since I was in college!) On the way to the store I noticed a big Garage Sale sign and a yard full of stuff. Being the garage-sale-aholic that I am, I just had to stop. The boys and I got out, and the first thing they do is run over to a riding mower sitting in the driveway with no sign on it. I browsed a bit while they sat in the seat together and pretended to drive, found a nice big cast iron pan with two handles (wierd, but cool) for a few bucks, then struck up a conversation with the man running the sale. He mentioned that the mower was for sale, and that the guy who owned it was pretty hard up for cash after he lost his house to foreclosure. Thinking it would be out of my  range anyway, I inquired about the price. $1400, he told me. Hmm… sounded good. So I asked him how it ran and how “used” it was. It had only been driven 23 hours total (said so on the little guage), still looked relatively untouched, and when he started it up and ran it… well, it purred like a tame lion.

Ok, so at this point I’m warring with myself. It would be AWESOME to have a riding lawnmower/tractor. But that was a lot of money. I told him I could probably do a payment plan of $350 a week for four weeks to pay it off, and he said he would ask the owner and get back to me. I totally didn’t think I would hear back from him. He just called me and told me that if I could pay cash up front, all in one fell swoop, that he would lower it to $1300. I countered with $1200, and BOOM! He accepted! We have just enough in the account to pay for that and this week’s bills, so I’m going to take it.

Did I mention that I AM SO EXCITED? No? Well, I am! We’ll go pick it up as soon as the boys wake up from their nap. I had to hook up the big trailer for this one, because the mower has a 50″ deck that wouldn’t fit on the little trailer. Oh. My. Gosh. That trailer has to weigh a thousand pounds on its own. Good grief, I nearly broke my arms off trying to haul it out of the tractor barn, up the tiny slope, and to the waiting van. It’s all hooked up now. Not sure what I’m going to do when it comes to loading and tying down the behemoth of a mower, but I’m sure we’ll figure it out.

In case you’re interested, it’s a Cub Cadet LTX 1050 VT. These puppies retail anywhere from $2200 – $2800 depending on where you buy it. Here’s a picture of one:

Nice, huh? I can’t wait to see how it handles this large expanse of lawn. The owners of the house had to hire someone to help me with the mowing, but maybe with this monster underneath me I can do it all myself. *fingers crossed*

Man, for only getting about two hours of sleep last night, this sure had been a great day. Now, if only it would rain a bit so I could work in the garden…

