Don’t ask me why, but I’m watching a show on NRB called “I Don’t Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist.” It’s a rant by a man named Dr. Frank Turek, co-author of the book by the same name. The linked webpage is www.crossexamined.org. He is basically talking about truth, objectivity, evangelism, relativity, the bible, judging, and all the different ways a religious person can dodge difficult questions about their faith by employing the “roadrunner tactic.”

What is a roadrunner tactic, you ask? When someone says something like “There is no truth” he is saying that you should turn that around on them and retort “Is that a truth?” Or, if someone says something like “Science is the only truth” then you should turn that around and ask “Is that a scientific truth?” He goes on to say that if you learn how to use the roadrunner tactic, you will be a SUPER GENIUS! Wow, eh? He also tells people to ask these three questions: Why do you think that? How did you come to that conclusion? Have you ever considered reading/studying/thinking about this other point of view?

No, not really. If you use the roadrunner tactic, you sound idiotic. You sound like you know how to twist words, and you know how to skirt a difficult topic by turning the questions back around on the other person. A super genius is someone who has looked at something from every possible angle and found the best explanation for what they believe in. A super genius is someone who can use multiple sources when arguing a point, instead of one 2000 year old fairy tale. A super genius is someone who is open-minded about beliefs that don’t cross social mores. A super genius does not buy something on faith, nor do they believe a concept or idea simply because it has been presented well. A person who uses the roadrunner tactic will only look like a super genius to the Wile E Coyotes of the world who can’t think for themselves anyway.

I get so upset when I watch people buying that crap. Stick to your beliefs! Ask them questions like “Should we be open-minded about torturing babies?” You know the truth, and don’t let anyone try to convince you otherwise! Skirt the important questions that have any possibility of broadening your mind! Trick the idiots of the world into believing what you are saying by dumbing down your rhetoric to the level of a kindergartener!

Okay, well it’s over now. I don’t know why I listen to that stuff sometimes. Maybe it just makes me feel better about myself.

Sometimes I wish people like that would actually get a knowledgable atheist to argue with them onstage. I’m not even really a big player in the atheist world, but even I could tear that guy to shreds if given the chance. But of course, what kind of knowledgable atheist would willingly sit through such drivel? Maybe it’s time for us to start taking the offensive, standing up for ourselves against these idiots. Maybe instead of sitting there looking pleasantly content when I am being lectured on my godlessness, I should start lecturing back.

And hey! Look at that! I have a meeting with a Jehovah’s Witness this Friday. I guess I might have to start looking for some new friends soon. Darn.

