I’ve been horrible about updating my blog recently. A lot has happened, and there’s no way I’ll be able to cover it all in one brief update, so I’ll try to get to all the changes in the next few posts. The biggest change is the fact that we no longer live in the farmhouse we had hoped to stay in until we were ready to build our own house on our own land. The owners of the house decided to double our rent and take out all the furniture that they had agreed to furnish the house with in the first place. So not only would our rent be twice as much, but we’d have to purchase all new furniture to fit that house. That wasn’t anything near our original agreement, so over the course of this past week I have packed up and moved back to my parents house. We’ll stay here until my husband is done with his stint in Iraq.

Speaking of Iraq, he has signed up for another 6 months. This means that he’ll come back for another 2 week leave in July or August, then go back until the end of the year in December. It was a tough choice to make, but it’ll give us that much more money in the bank for buying land and building a house after he comes home. We’re still not sure where we’ll end up, but he is going to start applying to companies back here in the states to try to get his foot in the door. One of those companies is Marinette Marine in Marinette, Wisconsin. We are pretty adamant that we will not live in a few states (Illinois and Wisconsin are two of the biggest no’s) but since Marinette is right on the border between the UP and Wisconsin, we figure we can work in one state, live in another.

So that last post? The one about expanding our flock? Yeah, that didn’t happen. We actually got the chicks, but had to sell them since my parents don’t want any animals. I had to sell the sheep as well. That was a blow to me, personally. I’ll miss those critters something awful, but the new owners seem a friendly sort and I’m sure I’ll see them again someday. I’ll just have to reorder chicks, ducklings, and goslings next spring when we have our own land.

This journey to living in the country on our own land, in our own house, surrounded by our own makings sure has a lot of twists and turns to it. Just when I think I have things figured out, a new obstacle comes up in our path. Just when it seems like smooth sailing, a wave comes and smashes everything to itty bitty pieces. I really don’t like the fact that I have had to move back in with my parents again, but I think it’ll work out for the better. We won’t be paying the exorbitant rent and utilities of that old farmhouse, we can still have gardens to raise our own food, and I will have some help with the kids and work. I hope I can use the rest of this year to learn a few more skills and pinch a few more pennies. I’m so excited to finally move on to that final stage of our dream!

