The food funk has struck our home! We have been eating the same meals all winter long and our appetites just can’t seem to rev up anymore for the same old things.  My family is big on Chinese cuisine, but I’ve never really been brave enough to try making much besides stir fry. Well today I put on my supermom cape and attempted something that looked very difficult: spring rolls.

Turns out – they’re actually really easy and a lot of fun to make. I’ll show you step by step how I made mine. My ingredients were mango, avocado, cilantro, lime juice, Napa cabbage, and cooked white crab meat. I kind of tossed those together on a whim after browsing through a few different recipes online. Feel free to experiment with your own fillings.

First up, I laid down a very thin pasta sheet made especially for rolls. I found it in the produce section at the grocer’s. You can also use rice paper if you want a more traditional spring roll and have it available locally. A layer of shredded crab meat went down in the center of the pasta sheet on a diagonal.

Next I layered on avocado slices, mango slices, cilantro sprigs, and shredded cabbage.

Next came the rolling. This pasta sheet made rolling much easier than rice paper, I would imagine, as rice paper is so thin and delicate. So long as I kept even pressure as I was rolling, I didn’t have much problem with the sheet ripping or coming loose. My lovely husband actually took a video of this short process.

Once I had a little over a dozen rolled up, I lined them up in rows on a cookie sheet sprayed with olive oil. The top of each roll got a brushing of olive oil with a pastry brush. Then they all went into a preheated 400°F oven for about 12 minutes. We ate them with white rice and homemade stir fry. They were super good dipped into the orange/pepper sauce I used in the stir fry.

So what new recipes are you trying this spring?

