Winter is setting in, and that means that life will soon be slowing down. With all that free time coming up, I’ve been searching for different things to do to keep us occupied. While randomly surfing through blogs, I came across this idea of a month of giving. Starting November 25th, then going until December 25th, I will be filling our family’s days with charitable causes.

What does that mean – a month of giving? It can be anything from making cookies for the neighbors to spending time with someone who could use a little company to chase away the lonelies. I’m excited for this. It’s a great way to teach our young boys what the holiday spirit is all about – love, compassion, and thoughtfulness.

I would like to do something different each day. So far, here are a few ideas that I’ve brainstormed:

  • Make holiday cards and send them to Holiday Mail for Heroes.
  • Donate blood.
  • Read to/with the kids at school.
  • Visit the nursing home.
  • Make a blanket to donate to a shelter.
  • Donate canned goods to a food pantry.
  • Join the Foundation Beyond Belief.
  • Sort through old toys and donate ones in good condition to Goodwill.
  • Give clothes we’ve outgrown to the local Elementary donation closet.
  • Make and give away some warm-up buddies to keep our friends toasty.
  • Draw pictures for the grandparents and mail them.
  • Help decorate the school halls or classrooms.
  • Make cookies for the local fire department.
  • Leave something nice for the postman.
  • Spend some quality time getting to know the neighbors better.
  • Make crafty tree decorations for friends.
  • Call up a friend I haven’t talked to in a long time.
  • Find something nice to say to each person we encounter while out somewhere.

Of course, there are many more ideas. I’m just getting started! I need something to look forward to this year around the holidays. Hopefully this is just the thing. Let me know in the comments if you have any other ideas for our family!

