Have you ever taken a personality test? I just did for fun, and got exactly what I expected. I took a version of the Jung/Myers-Briggs personality test just now to see what it would say. Here are my results:

INFJ – creative, smart, focus on fantasy more than reality, attracted to sad things, fears doing the wrong thing, observer, avoidant, fears drawing attention to self, anxious, cautious, somewhat easily frightened, easily offended, private, easily hurt, socially uncomfortable, emotionally moody, does not like to be looked at, fearful, perfectionist, can sabotage self, can be wounded at the core, values solitude, guarded, does not like crowds, organized, second guesses self, more likely to support marijuana legalization, focuses on peoples hidden motives, prone to crying, not competitive, prone to feelings of loneliness, not spontaneous, prone to sadness, longs for a stabilizing relationship, fears rejection in relationships, frequently worried, can feel victimized, prone to intimidation, lower energy, strict with self

Here is a link to the test I just took. I was through it in about five minutes. Short and sweet. http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/jtypes2.asp

I think that gives a very good look into who I am, though it makes me sound a bit more depressed than I am. I have a fairly good outlook on life. I don’t hold onto things for too long, I think. When I’m hurt, I cut away at whatever hurt me to get it out of my life, and that helps me get over it faster.  I am lonely a lot, but I think it’s because I have such high expectations of the people I surround myself with. If a person makes choices I deem as bad (complete lack of compassion, tells lies easily, demands respect but gives none, doesn’t use rational thinking, takes advantage of others, etc) then I ditch them quick. I don’t willingly associate with people like that simply because I’ve had enough interactions with those types to teach me it’s not worth my time.

It tickles me that it says “not competitive.” I think that’s the one trait that is dead wrong in the list. I’m very competitive. I take extreme pride in doing a thing and doing it WELL. I’m constantly comparing myself to the people around me and trying to better myself based on what I find. For instance, when I hurt someone’s feelings, I apologize and try to make things right. I like when the offended person responds kindly to me – I don’t like when I get backlash once for the initial offense and a second time when I try to make amends. So I try to remember that feeling when someone offends me and offers an apology. I am proud that I can look at being offended as a chance to grow a relationship instead of an excuse to end it. This ties in with my social awkwardness, I suppose. I’m proud that in some small ways I am more compassionate and able to forgive than the other people who look down on me for my awkwardness (oddly enough, the people who lack compassion and the ability to forgive are usually Christians… go figure).

This personality type paints a picture that lets me see why I make the choices I make, too. I AM easily frightened – I experienced being jobless and homeless and don’t want to be caught in that situation again. I AM guarded – I’ve been hurt by so many people that it takes a long time to gain my trust. I AM attracted to sad things, because I would like to help the people affected and maybe learn how to avoid those same sad things in my own life. I DO focus on fantasy more than reality, because if I’m being honest here – reality sucks sometimes. That’s why I had to give up on the TV years ago. I’d much rather live my life without worrying over all of the negative things in the media. I DON’T like crowds, which is exactly why I don’t enjoy shopping or even going out during the holiday season, and why I can’t enjoy myself living in a city or apartment. I AM fearful. I see gas prices tripling in the past 20 years. I see food prices skyrocketing. I see debt increasing. I see wages going stagnant. I’m fearful for the future, and that’s why I’m so attracted to the prepared lifestyle – it negates that fear.

I’m curious if these traits are common in country folk. Where do you stand on the spectrum?

