You know it is a good day when I post not one but TWO blogs in one day! After I came home this morning from watching the plumber do his thing in the basement, I got a call from my parents saying they were bringing a trailer load of our stuff. They had borrowed our wood splitter and some shop lights, plus they had some ever-present zucchini to unload on unsuspecting me. So I ran my errands here in town then went back up to the land again.

The log splitter now has a nice little home chained to a large maple tree to the west of our wood piles. After two hours or so of hard work with my dad, we were able to get a bit more wood stacked and the trailer cleared out. I think we’ve done 9 loads so far, but there’s still one more left to do whenever I finally have a free day.

Stacked wood is sexy. :)

Stacked wood is sexy. 🙂

Just as our arms were starting to protest all the heaving and hauling, a truck pulls up in the driveway. My builder! He got out and immediately set to filling in the western trench around the basement because the cement truck was due any minute. WOOHOOO!

The cement truck moving into place on the western wall.

The cement truck moving into place on the western wall.

Pouring and floating.

Pouring and floating.

All hands on deck! Fun note - our loan officer is in there getting dirty with the rest of them. Now that's service!

All hands on deck! Fun note – our loan officer is in there getting dirty with the rest of them. Now that’s service!

All floated, ready for a rest.

All floated, ready for a rest.

It took about a half hour for them to get all of the cement poured, spread, leveled, and floated. Then they let it rest for a half hour before lowering what looked like a face-down fan with a large handle onto it. They took turns walking it across the entire surface, smoothing it out. Then another twenty minute break before they repeated the entire process.

DSC07184

 

Now that we have a basement floor poured, the builder says that he’ll be on site first thing Monday morning to start getting the floor joists up and building up the walls. DOUBLE WOOHOOO!

Friends, we are finally going to have a house!

