Due to his ‘dozer having mechanical issues, our builder couldn’t get to the floor joists until today. While I was busy stacking firewood, he got the half wall on the east side of the basement done, then put the joists in place for the first floor.

Half wall almost done.

Half wall almost done.

Using the fork truck to get the trusses up.

Using the fork truck to get the trusses up.

Half wall finished and joists being spread across.

Half wall finished and joists being spread across.

Most of the trusses up.

Most of the trusses up.

It was at this point that I had to head back down to our apartment to get ready for a dinner party. I took the truck and left the van, expecting to come back to retrieve it before night fell. We had our dinner party, then my neighbor followed me to the local diesel mechanic so I could drop the truck off for some work. I was going to use the neighbor’s car to drive up to the land to get the van and close up the camper, then we were going to drive up together tomorrow to get her vehicle.

Yeah. Didn’t happen.

I got about five miles out of town headed toward our land when THE WORST storm since I’ve lived here hit. 70 mile an hour winds, hail, and rain like you would not believe. I turned around, defeated. My van had all of its windows down. The camper had all of its windows open. Oh, is that going to be a mess when we finally get up there tomorrow morning.

At least the blueberries got a good soaking. Sounds like the town nearest to our land got the worst of the storm.

This is where I leave you with a fun picture of a woodland friend we met on the road up near our land yesterday. Been seeing a lot of his buddies hit on the roads lately. I found myself seriously contemplating a bit of out-of-season hunting. (But I won’t! Because I’m a good girl!) I’m very curious what porcupines taste like.

Cute little prickle-butt.

Cute little prickle-butt.

Tomorrow I’ll take pictures of the finished joists and my wood pile. I’m very proud of the wood pile. It’s taking me a really long time to stack it all, and I’ve got the arm muscles to show for it. Hoorah for a woman who isn’t afraid to work!

