I have spent four days now painting, and all I have to show for it are two primed walls.

DSC07384

The builder has been MIA for the past few days. He’s going through a lot with his father being sick, so I haven’t pushed him. The back wall and part of the front wall (that you can see on the left in the picture) still need siding, so I won’t be able to finish priming everything yet. Tomorrow I plan on taking the boys up to the land with me so I can prime the other gable end.

I’m starting to get really good at painting, and at going up and down the ladder without my heart in my throat. Today I hardly got any primer in my mouth at all! For some reason, I tend to paint with my mouth open and tongue out. Maybe I get better traction that way? Who knows. I’m glad I kept my trap shut, though, because the yellow jackets are out en masse. I lost track of how many I bludgeoned to death against the side of the house. It made me think about this additive they sell in Menard’s for paint – kills any bugs who land on the painted surface on contact. Sounded neat, until I remembered that we’ll be getting back into beekeeping. I don’t want to kill our hard-working buzzy ladies, so I’ll have to find a different way to control these pesky wasps. Any suggestions?

After I was done painting for the day, I climbed up into the house to take some pictures of the interior.

The nook where our wood stove will rest. All ready for me to install the hearth.

The nook where our wood stove will rest. All ready for me to install the hearth.

The water tank in the basement.

The water tank in the basement.

Our new safe. Hmm... can you tell where we bought it? Haha! It's all set up and ready to use.

Our new safe. Hmm… can you tell where we bought it? Haha! It’s all set up and ready to use.

The stairs to the basement are in. The builder won't put the finished treads on until he's done being messy.

The stairs to the basement are in. The builder won’t put the finished treads on until he’s done being messy.

Now that the stairs are finished, I’m going to start trying to move some of these boxes full of lights, fans, and other house-related items into the basement. All that storage space is certainly going to come in handy.

