More painting has ensued. Now three of the four exterior walls are done.

The builder was just finishing up with the soffit when I was finishing priming the third wall.

The builder was just finishing up with the soffit when I was finishing priming the third wall.

The electrician has also been hard at work. He’s doing a fantastic job of making sure we have enough outlets and has come up with some ideas that I overlooked in my initial electrical map, like outlets on the exterior next to the doors. Christmas lights, anyone? He should be finished with all of the electrical work by Friday. Hopefully our plumber comes out soon and gets his work done, too. If everyone finishes before the weekend is through, then the building inspector should be coming by to do her thing at the start of next week. Once we get the okay, the builder can get the entire house insulated and the drywall crew can come in to finish. That means, if everything goes well, the builder should be done with his part of the house within the next week and a half. Yay!

Recessed light cans in above the kitchen area. We'll have eight total in the great room, plus a ceiling fan and some fancy mood lighting.

Recessed light cans in above the kitchen area. We’ll have eight total in the great room, plus a ceiling fan and some fancy mood lighting.

Recessed light can above the shower, and the fan/light for the bathroom.

Recessed light can above the shower, and the fan/light for the bathroom.

Our living room, almost all wired for inspection.

Our living room, almost all wired for inspection.

Of course, once the builder is done, that’s when I really have to get my butt in gear. I have to get this behemoth to occupancy stage and beyond. First order of business will be painting. Once all of the walls are painted, I will probably start laying the wood flooring. I’m estimating the painting and flooring alone will take me at least two weeks. Hopefully by the time I’m working on those items, the wood stove will be installed so I have heat. We’ve been lucky this week with warm weather. Can you believe it was almost 80 today? I don’t expect that luck to last.

Once the painting and flooring are done, and the wood stove is installed and in operating condition, I should be ready to tackle the bathroom and kitchen. We have a family member helping us out with the kitchen cabinetry. He is a fantastic woodworker, so I’m sure our kitchen will be absolutely beautiful. Until the cabinets are done, though, I’ll have to craft some makeshift counters and a sink base. I know we’ll need at least one operating sink to pass code for occupancy. Our family helper isn’t doing the bathroom, so I’ll be constructing something for a sink and supply tower in there. Plus tiling. Oh, the tiling! I’m nervous about the tiling. I’ve never done it before.  I guess I shouldn’t be nervous, though. After all, I’ve never done most of the stuff I’m doing now, and so far it’s coming out okay.

Should be fun times coming in the next couple of months! Stay tuned!

 

