Geez! That only took… what? Eight days? At least now the wood is protected so if I don’t get to the actual paint until next spring, we’ll still be in good shape. The primer is tinted a lighter color of our final paint color so that I’m not painting over glaring bright white.

DSC07412

DSC07408

DSC07407

 

Once I finished up the primer today, I went through and cleaned up the interior of the house a bit to get it ready for inspection. The plumber and electrician have been through and made their rough-ins for everything, so the next step is to have it all checked out to ensure it meets code. Once that is done, my builder will come through and insulate in preparation for the drywall crew that is scheduled to come in some time next week.

With the interior tidied up ever so slightly, I got to work on the next item on my to-do list: the shower pan. As my plumber was getting ready to rough-in the shower, he noticed the directions for the shower pan said that it needed to be mortared down to the sub-floor. Well, I figured this was a great way to get intimately acquainted with mortar. It was good to have a little practice because pretty soon I’ll be building the hearth for our beautiful wood stove and tiling the bathroom.

My tools all ready to go. See that sublime tile that the paper toweling is on? That's a sneak preview of what's to come for our hearth!

My tools all ready to go. See that sublime tile that the paper toweling is on? That’s a sneak preview of what’s to come for our hearth!

I swept the bathroom as clean as I could, then tilted the pan up to give myself an easier work surface.

I swept the bathroom as clean as I could, then tilted the pan up to give myself an easier work surface.

Smoothing on the mortar. Took two gallons to fill that monster. Thanks to my oldest son for taking photos of this process because I was too messy to handle the camera!

Smoothing on the mortar. Took two gallons to fill that monster. Thanks to my oldest son for taking photos of this process because I was too messy to handle the camera!

Nearly there! I had to constantly go back over what I already spread on because it wanted to fall downward. Once it was all evenly coated, I added a few extra trowels full and used the serrated trowel to make some grooves for purchase.

Nearly there! I had to constantly go back over what I already spread on because it wanted to fall downward. Once it was all evenly coated, I added a few extra trowels full and used the serrated trowel to make some grooves for purchase.

In place and ready for inspection! I walked over it and banged it tight against the back wall before I left. It's snug as a bug in a rug.

In place and ready for inspection! I walked over it and banged it tight against the back wall before I left. It’s snug as a bug in a rug.

Another preview of what's to come with the hearth tomorrow. *wink wink*

Another preview of what’s to come with the hearth tomorrow. *wink wink*

So that was my day today. Priming and installing a shower pan. Tomorrow I am going to attempt to build a hearth pad and maybe start tiling it. We’ll see how far I get! Friday I am taking the day off to go on a field trip with our youngest son’s class to a local pumpkin farm. It should be a blast!

To finish up this blog, I’ll leave you with a few random interior shots of the rough-in work.

DSC07429

DSC07431

 

 

 

 

 

