The entire house was insulated in one night by one man. Rock on, Eric!

The entire house was insulated in one night by one man. Rock on, Eric!

The half wall in the basement got some insulation, too.

The half wall in the basement got some insulation, too.

Jasper installed our pipe for the wood stove. He'll come back November 4th to help get the beast into the house and attached. Hooray for wood heat! I can't wait!

Jasper installed our pipe for the wood stove. He’ll come back November 4th to help get the beast into the house and attached. Hooray for wood heat! I can’t wait!

Got the Micore 300 down on top of some good bracing and a layer of OSB. Starting to dry arrange the tiles.

Got the Micore 300 down on top of some good bracing and a layer of OSB. Starting to dry arrange the tiles.

Drywall crew came through and got about 90% of the walls hung. They left a BIG mess for me to clean up, including this pile that had to be moved before our excavator could grade around the house. Tsk tsk!

Drywall crew came through and got about 90% of the walls hung. They left a BIG mess for us to clean up, including this pile that had to be moved before our excavator could grade around the house. Tsk tsk!

A closet above the stairwell behind the wood stove. Perfect for bedding.

A closet above the stairwell behind the wood stove. Perfect for bedding.

Future kitchen! The ceiling will be tongue & groove pine in the great room.

Future kitchen! The ceiling will be tongue & groove pine in the great room.

The washer and dryer closet in the hall, and the door into our bedroom. So much light from the sun!

The washer and dryer closet in the hall, and the door into our bedroom. So much light from the sun!

My little kerosene heater. This puppy can heat the entire house from below freezing to balmy in about an hour. Now I just have to find a place that sells bulk kerosene so I don't get raped at the hardware store.

My little kerosene heater. This puppy can heat the entire house from below freezing to balmy in about an hour. Now I just have to find a place that sells bulk kerosene so I don’t get raped at the hardware store.

The new tile saw. We put up some plastic in the future shower and went to town cutting tiles.

The new tile saw. We put up some plastic in the future shower and went to town cutting tiles.

That's me cutting tiles! I only broke one... my first one. It got easier after that. :)

That’s me cutting tiles! I only broke one… my first one. It got easier after that. πŸ™‚

Finishing dry setting the tiles. Had to make sure they were all going to fit right.

Finishing dry setting the tiles. Had to make sure they were all going to fit right.

My dad drove up to help today. I think he was excited about tiling. His job was playing in the mortar, and he had a grand ol' time of it!

My dad drove up to help today. I think he was excited about tiling. His job was playing in the mortar, and he had a grand ol’ time of it!

All finished! Now it has to set up for at least 24 hours before I can grout between the tiles. I'll probably go up to do that Friday.

All finished! Now it has to set up for at least 24 hours before I can grout between the tiles. I’ll probably go up to do that Friday.

The ground is all smooth around the house, and sloping away for drainage.

The ground is all smooth around the house, and sloping away for drainage.

There were so many rocks we just stopped picking them. Limestone. Everywhere.

There were so many rocks we just stopped picking them. Limestone. Everywhere.

It’s been a busy week! I’m usually better about updating, but it’s been crazy. Not only have I been up at the land working on our house every day, but I also spent last weekend helping my dad get his entire new garage insulated and putting OSB up on the walls. I think tomorrow will be the day to tackle the garden site. I need to get more post holes dug for fence posts and lay down some plastic to get all the grass and weeds smothered out. Or I’ll attack the remaining piles of unstacked fire wood. Or I’ll haul trim for the house into the basement and start painting it.

Tons to do! Winter is coming!

