For anyone thinking of building their own house, here is your warning – if you don’t like working all day every day until your muscles can’t take anymore and you’re so tired you just want to zonk out standing up, and if you can’t agree on anything with your significant other… then stop thinking about it! Luckily, I’m not one to shrink from a hard day of labor, neither is my husband. And further – we agree on just about everything. He has some brilliant ideas that I’m happy to go along with, and I like to think that sometimes I come up with a gem or two that he’s willing to accommodate into our plans. We make a good team, and there’s no way we could ever have done this if either one of us didn’t have a good work ethic or a disagreeable attitude.

Since my husband came home two weeks ago, we have accomplished so much! We got the workshop set up in the basement. We built several sets of shelving in the basement. He finished framing about half of our windows and doors. I finished tiling the shower and hearth. He trimmed out the edges and top of the hearth. (He’s actually working on that as I type this!) I built a seed starting shelf from scraps we had laying around. We got all of the closet bifold doors up along with their jambs. He made an extension cord for our dryer so we can actually slide it out to clean and do maintenance behind it. I got a good start organizing my basement pantry. And… tomorrow our cabinets come!

We’re going to be cleaning up all of our messes tonight in preparation for a small housewarming party tomorrow from noon to eight. I have invited our closest friends and family to let them know about it, but we’ll be having another this summer when my husband is home for good for EVERYONE. So if you weren’t invited to this one, know that it’s because we only have about 400 square feet in which to entertain guests. In the summer, we’ll have nearly 30 acres of space in which to party. Prepare for good times. đŸ™‚

Here’s a little preview of a few more of the new things we’re working on.

IMG_0335[1]

IMG_0332[1]

IMG_0338[1]

 

Hopefully we can have these projects and the kitchen finished by early next week because that’s when the bank inspector is due to look everything over for our mortgage approval. Everything hinges on this inspection because we have such a non-traditional home. I guess they’re nervous about the fact that two inexperienced people are finishing it or something. But it could also be the fact that our house is very small for the area and heated solely with wood. Either way, I hope we impress him and are able to finally turn our construction loan into a mortgage. I’m crossing my fingers and praying to His Noodliness that we qualify for a 15 year or less. We’d LOVE to own everything outright before the kids are all grown. I think we’d be the first on both sides of our family to accomplish that.

More pictures to come as we finish up all these ongoing projects!

 

