So far I’m having a raging success with my indoor seed starting venture this year. I have 6/12 artichokes, 12/12 ping tung eggplants, and 2/12 casper eggplants popped up. I planted peppers about 5 days ago and already a few varieties are flinging their first leaves into the air. The trays get checked several times a day by me and our boys because it’s so much fun to see all these little greens poking up out of the dirt! While I’m not terribly impressed with the germination rate of the artichokes and casper eggplants, the peppers are renewing my hope. I planted 2-3 seeds in each pocket and some look to have a 100% germination rate. I’m going to be doing a lot of transplanting as these things get bigger!

Care to see my green babies?

From left to right: Ping Tung eggplant, Violetta Precoce artichoke, Casper eggplant.

From left to right: Ping Tung eggplant, Violetta Precoce artichoke, Casper eggplant. The nine cells in the back are all asparagus that I just planted. They won’t pop up for a few weeks, I think.

Left, back to front: Cayenne, Pepperoncini, Purple Beauty, Purple Beauty, Hungarian Hot Wax, Golden Marconi. Right, back to front: Cayenne, Albino Bullnose, Albino Bullnose, California Wonder, California Wonder, Cubanelle.

Left, back to front: Cayenne, Pepperoncini, Purple Beauty, Purple Beauty, Hungarian Hot Wax, Golden Marconi.
Right, back to front: Cayenne, Albino Bullnose, Albino Bullnose, California Wonder, California Wonder, Cubanelle.

Left, back to front: Cubanelle, Hungarian Hot Wax, Hungarian Hot Wax, Red Marconi, Red Marconi, Red Marconi. Right, back to front: Golden Marconi, Golden Marconi, Jalapeno, Jalapeno, Jalapeno, Jalapeno.

Left, back to front: Cubanelle, Hungarian Hot Wax, Hungarian Hot Wax, Red Marconi, Red Marconi, Red Marconi.
Right, back to front: Golden Marconi, Golden Marconi, Jalapeno, Jalapeno, Jalapeno, Jalapeno.

The second and third pictures are all the peppers I started. It seems like a lot, but I’m growing several varieties for my parents’ garden as well. If I still have extras after they pick through, I’ll probably sell them to neighbors like I’ve done before.

Other than the plants, I’ve been trying to keep busy with little projects on the house, cleaning, and cooking. Our big butcher block island counter top is finally starting to reject some of the mineral oil I rub on it, so I decided it’s good enough to bring my Country Living grain mill up and start making bread again. 

IMG_0421[1]

 

Woohoo! I’m back in the bread-making business! My arms are now all rubbery from grinding out about 12 cups of hard red winter wheat and then kneading it into a rather large ball of dough. I should be able to get four loaves of sandwich bread out of this. As I type, it’s rising in a big metal bowl by the wood stove, covered with a damp tea towel. I’m debating whether or not to also make some roll dough. I’m so excited to have my grinder back! I felt like a failure as a mom packing my kids’ lunches with store bought bread these past couple months.

 

What are you up to on this -20 with windchill day? Brr! Hurry up, spring!

