It’s been a good few days. I sold out of just about every type of hot and sweet pepper I had extra of at yesterday’s farmer’s market. The only one that didn’t sell well was the Cubanelle pepper, which is okay because I can use the extra fruit from those to make a bumper crop of pepper jelly this fall. Pepper jelly, salsa, and strawberry jam are always a high-demand item in our families around Christmas time. The mean people didn’t bother me at all at the market. They each walked by a few times looking at my table, but neither of them met my eyes nor returned my smile. Oh well. I guess I’d be kind of embarrassed about my behavior if I was them, too. I’m content that the yelling has stopped at least. Now if only they’d stop cyber-bullying me on my blog. Yep, got another love note yesterday. Rolling my eyes.

The garden is coming along nicely. I got all of the four types of cabbage planted, started planting celery, and my husband helped me begin hanging the fencing along the posts. When I got back from the sale yesterday, my husband had finished the second raised bed. As he was finishing filling the second raised bed, the axle on our little trailer bent completely. I suggest that anyone looking for a good utility trailer to pull behind their mower or four-wheeler does NOT go to Menard’s. It was that black and yellow trailer in the previous pictures of the garden – total crap. We never had it more than 2/3rds full, but it still couldn’t handle that. We took it back and got a complete refund. Maybe this week I’ll head to Green Bay to Fleet Farm to get a better one. Unless anyone has a better local place? I’m open to suggestions.

I planted the last 50 strawberries, then was able to get the last of the soft fruits in the patch. We have four elderberries, four currants, two gooseberries, three cranberries, two aronia berries, and two green seedless grapes in there. Someday soon I’ll rent a wood chipper and get it all mulched in well. I don’t feel like dealing with constantly weeding that big area or having to weed whack grass around the plants.

The plan for today was to finish tilling up to the end of the raised beds, then get the rest of the celery, eggplants, and peppers planted. We’ll see if I get that far. This cold I have is kicking my butt today. I had to do my nebulizer machine to get the gunk in my chest broken up and help me breathe better. Now I’m dizzy and my ear is all plugged. I got so dizzy a few minutes ago that my husband had to run me a trash can because I got pukey. I hate being sick. It’s holding up my plans for the day. My husband and older son got this and sniffled for a day. Then they were over it. My immune system sucks.

My husband has been keeping busy helping me outside and doing his own projects in the house. He finished getting our gutters and drain pipe up on the outside the other day. He also did the kitchen window that I kept procrastinating on. As I type, he’s installing the sliding door and trim for the bathroom. We originally had a normal hinged door, but we mis-measured and it ended up hitting the toilet on the swing inward. I kept the hinged door, but turned it so it opened into the hall. Now he’s taking the hinged door and putting it in the opening going to the basement stairs, and he’ll install a barn-style sliding door on the bathroom that won’t take up half the hall when it’s opened. Thanks, hun!

I’ll take pictures of the window and doors later when I’m feeling better. I’m stuck in bed until this dizzy pukey thing passes. Grr.

In the meantime, how about some pictures of my plants?

Flower bud on a Ping Tung eggplant. Check out the thorns!

Flower bud on a Ping Tung eggplant. Check out the thorns!

Open flower on a Ping Tung eggplant.

Open flower on a Ping Tung eggplant.

A baby Pepperoncini pepper.

A baby Pepperoncini pepper.

Hope y’all have a beautiful weekend!

 

