I’d say the garden is about 75% in at this point. Here’s what I have planted so far, with comments about how they are doing for my own future reference.

  • 2 Potato varieties
  • 4 Onion varieties – white are doing great, red varieties not so much
  • 4 Cabbage varieties
  • 2 Eggplant varieties
  • 3 Beet varieties
  • 7 Carrot varieties
  • 14 Pepper varieties
  • 9 Tomato varieties – planted ~80, lost 4 almost immediately, the rest are recovering well
  • Titan Sunflowers – 90% germination, short of seeds so can’t re-sow empty spaces
  • 2 Cucumber varieties
  • Mangels for deer/chickens
  • 2 Pea varieties
  • Parsnips
  • Leeks
  • Rutabegas
  • 2 Turnip varieties
  • 5 soup Bean varieties
  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • 4 Basil varieties
  • 4 Strawberry varieties
  • 2 Currant varieties
  • Gooseberries
  • Cranberries
  • 2 Elderberry varieties
  • 2 Grape varieties
  • Aronia berries
  • Wild mint
  • Various flowers including Shasta daisies, Oriental lilies, lavender, marigolds, delphinium, liatris

What I have left to plant:

  • Summer and winter squash
  • Corn – sweet, dent, and popping varieties
  • Pole beans
  • More flowers including sweet peas, nasturtiums, zinnia, morning glories, bee balm, and various bulbs from my parents
  • Melons
  • Pumpkins
  • Rice
  • Radishes
  • Various herbs including dill, cilantro, parsley, and oregano

That’s a lot when I see it all in a list! Holy moly. This weekend I hope to finish the fencing around the garden, put up some gates, finish tilling the last patch and get it planted, and till/mulch the entire soft fruit patch. It’s going to be a busy weekend.

A view looking west in the garden.

A view looking west in the garden.

Cubanelle peppers.

Cubanelle peppers. Note the stressed out “old” leaves – transplanting them into the garden was a bit of a shock. Now all of the pepper plants are getting new leaves and recovering very well.

Jalapenos.

Jalapenos.

Purple Beauty sweet bell pepper.

Purple Beauty sweet bell pepper.

Red Marconi sweet pepper. These guys get 6-8" long and turn fire-engine red when ready. Yum!

Red Marconi sweet pepper. These guys get 6-8″ long and turn fire-engine red when ready. Yum!

Tomato flower.

Tomato flower.

Ping Tung eggplant. I noticed one of the Casper eggplants is blooming now, too!

Ping Tung eggplant. I noticed one of the Casper eggplants is blooming now, too!

Behind the tomatoes, this is where the peas, beans, carrots, turnips, and cukes are planted.

Behind the tomatoes, this is where the peas, beans, carrots, turnips, and cukes are planted.

Strawberries all have at least three leaves. I'm picking flowers off like crazy. I think my husband is upset, but he'll thank me next year. ;)

Strawberries all have at least three leaves. I’m picking flowers off like crazy. I think my husband is upset, but he’ll thank me next year. 😉

Red Lake currant.

Red Lake currant.

Johns Elderberry.

Johns Elderberry.

American cranberry.

American cranberry.

Grapes. Still need to get the trellis up.

Grapes. Still need to get the trellis up.

Aronia berries.

Aronia berries.

Gooseberry plant.

Gooseberry plant.

Hope you have a productive, sunny weekend!

