So far I have spent seven and a half hours in the garden today. I will spend at least another three out there before the day is over. This, my friends, is why I hesitate to get a job in the summer. I am putting more hours into the garden right now than I would at a full time job. It’s too bad I can’t grow money! We’d be rich.

I’m pulling peppers off of the plants now. So far we’ve eaten all of the ones I’ve picked, so I haven’t had a chance to freeze or can any. Tonight I am doing cream cheese stuffed, bacon wrapped Cubanelle peppers for dinner. Yum! So far it’s only the “hot” peppers that are ready to pick, but there are a lot of sweet peppers waiting in the wings, as you’ll see in the pictures below. I even spotted several tomatoes! It won’t be too long until canning season will be in full swing.

Another shot from the top of the chicken coop. Only a small portion yet to plant!

Another shot from the top of the chicken coop. Only a small portion yet to plant!

Two California Wonder sweet bell peppers.

Two California Wonder sweet bell peppers.

Count the Pepperoncini peppers.

Count the Pepperoncini peppers.

Jalapenos are starting to produce. Strange - I don't remember them being purple before. Wonder if it's impure seed or some deficiency in the soil?

Jalapenos are starting to produce. Strange – I don’t remember them being purple before. Wonder if it’s impure seed or some deficiency in the soil?

Cubanelle peppers... after I harvested a bowl full.

Cubanelle peppers… after I harvested a bowl full.

One of the few first tomatoes forming! Pretty sure this is a Principe Borghese based on its shape. I did label all of the tomato plants as I transplanted them, but apparently our permanent marker doesn't stick to popsicle sticks. They're all blank.

One of the few first tomatoes forming! Pretty sure this is a Principe Borghese based on its shape. I did label all of the tomato plants as I transplanted them, but apparently our permanent marker doesn’t stick to popsicle sticks. They’re all blank.

Notice anything missing? Yeah... the deer found the newly sprouted beans and had a salad. They also ate the tops off of some of the strawberry plants. Damn things. The fence just went to the top of my priorities for tonight.

Notice anything missing? Yeah… the deer found the newly sprouted beans and had a salad. They also ate the tops off of some of the strawberry plants. Damn things. The fence just went to the top of my priorities for tonight.

Two pickling-type cucumbers.

Two pickling-type cucumbers.

I put down weed barrier cloth in the soft fruit patch in preparation for some major mulching. I don't have the time or energy to weed that huge section in addition to the garden. I'll probably do the paths between the raised beds as well. Look at how tall the grass and weeds get in just a week if left unchecked!

I put down weed barrier cloth in the soft fruit patch in preparation for some major mulching. I don’t have the time or energy to weed that huge section in addition to the garden. I’ll probably do the paths between the raised beds as well. Look at how tall the grass and weeds get in just a week if left unchecked!

My husband has been working on the shed ever free moment he has, but I think tonight I might ask him to help me finish getting the fence finished. We’ve had the materials for a few days already, and thanks to the evidence I found this morning, I realize now that the fence should really have top priority over everything else. I don’t want to lose all of my hard work to some hungry, stinking deer. Anyway. The roof trusses are done, and all four walls are up on the shed. If we finish the fence, maybe by this weekend he’ll have the roof on and everything sheathed. I’ve been working hard in the garden so I can take a few days off of weeding to help him.

DSCN0500

 

Hope y’all have a great weekend!

 

 

