I said I was going to share a recipe I found with y’all, and here it is. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of the final cakes because they were eaten so fast! Even my picky 6 year old wolfed these down one after another. Although this recipe works out to make about a dozen little patties, I’ll probably double it next time. Everyone at the table wanted to eat more… but they were gone.

 

Cajun Fish Cakes

4 6-8oz fillets of any white fish (I used Swai, whatever the hell that is)

1.5 Tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon Cajun seasoning

1 egg, beaten

2 Tablespoons yellow or brown mustard

1 cup stale bread crumbs or cracker crumbs (I used saltines)

1 cup fat (EVOO, Crisco, butter, or what I used – bacon grease)

1 cup Miracle Whip

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 teastpoon lemon juice

 

Directions:

1. Cook the fish. Bake it, fry it, toss it on a grill – whatever method you choose is fine. I sauteed it in a pan on the stove top. When the fish is cooked thoroughly, remove it from the heat and put all four fillets into a medium mixing bowl. Season the fish with 1.5 T Cajun seasoning. Stir the seasoning in well with a fork, breaking the large chunks of fish into tiny flakes as you go. Add the beaten egg, mustard, and bread crumbs. Stir well.

DSCN0826

2. In a large, flat frying pan, heat the oil on medium low temperature on the stove top. While it’s heating, make a quick remoulade sauce by combining the Miracle Whip, garlic, lemon juice, and remaining 1 t Cajun seasoning in a small bowl – then set it on the table.

DSCN0836

3. Patty the fish into cakes about 3″ across and 3/4-1″ deep. You should end up with around a dozen. This turned into a two-person job for us. My husband pattied and handed them to me while I mother-henned over all of the cakes in the oil, flipping them as needed. It was a lot more efficient than working alone. (Thanks, honey!) Each cake took about two minutes per side.

DSCN0835

4. Remove the cakes as they finish to a serving plate. Let cool slightly before eating. Spread a dollop of sauce over each cake, then mow down. Make animal grunting noises. Lick your plate clean and stare hungrily at the cake your child is taking his dear, sweet time finishing.

 

There you have it! I hope you enjoy these as much as we did. They are a fabulous way to use up boring old white fish sitting around in your freezer. I paired it with a homemade tortilla soup, fresh cut-up pears, and chips and salsa. Let me know how your family likes it!

