Of the blog, that is. Can you believe I’ve been putzing around with WordPress for five years now?

5year

We’ve been keeping pretty busy here lately, especially my husband. He is the hardest worker I know. He comes home from a ten hour shift every day, and still has energy to tackle big house projects like trimming, painting, and building cabinets. The last couple weeks he’s been working on building our bathroom cabinets. He has the first one done, or nearly so. We still need magnets and pulls. He’s done a beautiful job for this being the first time he’s ever attempted cabinets! What do you think?

DSCN0932

DSCN0950

The first was taken in the basement shop, where he’s been constructing it. We hauled that behemoth upstairs to stain it in the living room, then put it in the bathroom where it shall stay forever. His next project is to build the sink cabinet. That piece of poo looking thing there is just a temporary one I made out of an end table and a sink top. It’s about four inches lower than a normal one, which is great for the kids but sucks for an adult. The next cabinet will take up that whole space, have three drawers, and one cupboard. We’ll probably do some kind of vessel sink that sits on top of the counter, which will be granite to match the kitchen. My husband is also going to build a custom swing-away mirror over a medicine cabinet. It should look awesome when it’s finished!

I’ve done a bit of work in the bathroom as well. Back when I grouted the shower, I either mixed the grout wrong or sealed it wrong. After a year of use, it was starting to disintegrate from between the tiles. So I chipped out as much as I could, cleaned it all up really well, re-grouted, and re-sealed. Our shower looks brand new. Oh, and I bought a cloth curtain so now I can wash it periodically. The old plastic one got so gross all the time and cleaners ate the plastic away along with the yucky bits.

DSCN0938

I still need to figure out a trim for around the tile edge to hide the mortar. We’ll probably do that after the cabinets are in place and we’re laying the floor trim, which you can see is missing in the picture of the cabinet.

I’ve been slowly getting the garden ready for winter. I wait for the nice days, which are far and few between lately. We’ve been getting a lot of rain. I finished bringing in the cabbages and sunflowers. They’re all happily hanging in the basement now. Once the sunflowers are dry, I’ll rub the seeds off of the heads, save the biggest ones for seed stock for next year, and roast the rest. I think you might be able to see a few of the hanging cabbages behind the Roma food mill. They’ll store well down there until we use them up. It stays a comfortable 50 degrees year-round in the basement, even without a heat source down there.

DSCN0954

 

Today or tomorrow I’ll be planting the garlic out. I meant to do it at least a week ago, but the weather had other plans for me. Look for a post soon detailing the garlic bed.

