These were so good, I just had to share them! I bet if I had a commercial kitchen I could sell out with these at every market. They are the best yeast donuts I’ve ever had!

1 Tablespoon yeast
3/4 cup warm apple cider
1/4 cup white sugar
2 Tablespoons melted butter
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 cups flour
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
pinch of ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 large apple, finely chopped (I used Honeycrisp)

oil for frying (I used pig lard)
cinnamon sugar for dusting

Combine the wet ingredients in one bowl. Combine the dry ingredients in another. Toss the apples in the dry ingredients mix. Add the wet and dry mixes together, knead smooth. Let rise until doubled. Roll out 1/2″ thick, use biscuit cutters to cut donut shapes. Let rise to double again. Fry in oil/lard about 60 seconds per side. Toss in cinnamon sugar while still hot. Enjoy!

DSCN1037

DSCN1038

See those apple chunks? Mmmm!

See those apple chunks? Mmmm!

DSCN1040

I suggest that if you want these first thing in the morning, make the dough the night before. Even next to the wood stove, this dough took a long time to rise. Overnight in the fridge, I think it would be perfect by morning.

 

This post is featured on Homesteader’s Hop #2 at http://modernhomesteader.net/2014/11/07/homesteaders-hop-2/

