I am spending a couple hours every few days transplanting peppers to their second homes in plastic cups. So far it’s taken me about 6 hours to transplant 147. It seems like a lot of effort to put into some silly little plants, but they appreciate it and will give me strong roots and stalks as a result. In case you missed my post about transplanting seedlings last year, here is how I do it.

First I get my cups ready. I’m doing a bit of experimenting this year since I’ve found that the clear plastic cups are even cheaper than Solo cups on sale. So I’m using up some old stock I stashed from last year, and also some new cups I bought this year. The solo cups are too wide for my use, so I cut off the top inch or so. It doesn’t have to be pretty – the plants don’t care. Cutting off the top lets me stack 18 cups per flat, 21 if I really squeeze them in. Then I cut three holes around the bottom edge of each cup for drainage. Again, nothing fancy – they just need a way to access the water in the tray during watering times.

DSCN1216

Then I mix up sterile potting mix with peat moss and perlite. I run it under the faucet for a few seconds to moisten it, then use a big mixing spoon to stir it up evenly. When the mixture is wet enough to clump when I make a fist around it, but not so wet that water drips from my fist, then I gently scoop it into each cup, leaving the mixture loose and aerated. I don’t press it down at all at this point, but I do stick my index finger into the middle of each cup to create a planting hole for the seedling.

DSCN1218

 

This year I’m transplanting as soon as the cotyledons (seed leaves) are up and spread, but last year I waited until the first set of true leaves were out. Doesn’t really make a difference when you do it, so long as you take your time and are gentle with the fragile little roots and stems. Squeeze the bottom of each cell to loosen the seed starting mix around the roots. Then ever so gently pinch the base of the tiny stem and pull each seedling out. Immediately tuck them into the hole in the transplant cup, then gently press the mix around the base of the stem.

DSCN1213

 

DSCN1217

DSCN1221

 

Once all of the cups in a tray are filled, planted, and labeled clearly, they go upstairs to the grow racks I made. They’re simple structures. So easy, a caveman could make them. They’re just shelves between four supports, leveled and screwed in place. Cheap shop lights hang from screwed-in J hooks and chains. This makes them adjustable, which is necessary because the light should always be 1-2″ above the top of the plants to prevent legginess. No, you don’t need the expensive grow lights. I’ve used the cheapest bulbs I can find and had sturdy, healthy plants.

DSCN1219

Pardon the mess. We’re in the process of finishing the loft, where the grow shelves will reside until spring planting. I can’t imagine why, but my husband doesn’t seem fond of the idea of 8′ tall grow shelves in the living room this year. Who knows? Maybe he actually wants to watch movies on his new tv in the corner. Maybe he wants to be able to walk through the living room without having to shimmy around grow shelves. Husbands… they’re so picky. 😛

Other than the peppers, the onions and herbs are doing splendidly. The onions are just about ready for their first haircut and a bit of straightening up.

DSCN1211

DSCN1209

This is the first year out of several that I have planted rosemary and actually had some results! I don’t know if you can see it in the top left of the second picture, but there are two tiny rosemary seedlings. I had three, but one bit the dust. I’ve started taking some of the herbs, especially the basil you see on the bottom of the bottom picture, and putting them into assorted pots for sale. They smell sooo good when I play with them! I can’t wait to have fresh basil again.

DSCN1210

These pots shown above each have three different types of basil – Italian, cinnamon, and opal purple. I bought some plain little self-watering pots so people can grow them on a patio or in a windowsill. The plants trying to overshadow them are my indoor spider plant and goldfish plant. Can you see the little, goldfish-shaped, orange flowers on the right? The whole plant is about ready to be loaded with them. It blooms constantly. I originally got the plant from my aunt, but in my ignorance I left it outside over winter. I thought it would just come back like a perennial. Nope. Thankfully, my mom saw my mistake and took a cutting before it was too late. She propagated her own, and gave me a cutting of it when I complimented hers. It’s so neat to see a little plant trimming take off into a full grown plant in its own right. Nature is awesome.

Not much else going on on our little homestead. The snow is nearly all gone, and the ground is nearly thawed completely. Crazy what a week can do. Last week it was -23… this week it’s in the 40’s. I’m still crossing my fingers for an early spring. I’d love to get the garden planted before mid-June this year! I’m behind on my seed starting thanks to the peppers hogging the heat mats, but hopefully I’ll get back on track this week. I still have to start eggplants, broccoli, cauliflower, marigolds, a few more herbs, and some other flowers. Then in April, I’ll start the tomatoes, melons, squash, and another round of herbs.

What are you starting? How’s it going?

 

