Yesterday was the Spring Equinox, and this year it actually feels like spring! The snow finished melting a few days ago, and the weather has consistently been above freezing during the day. Blue skies and a shining sun are doing a lot to pick up my mood lately. Oh, spring! How I’ve missed you!

The chickens and guineas are enjoying the warmer weather. Their run is finally solidified instead of being a mud wallow. Every morning I go out and toss some scratch for them. Pretty soon their coop will be thawed enough for me to clean out a winter worth of poop and straw. Not even kidding – it’s about 3′ deep in spots. My garden is going to love all the nutrients from the litter.

DSCN1242

DSCN1245

And we’re getting eggs once again. Look at the beautiful little presents I find every morning! We’re getting 8-10 a day… and it’s warm enough outside that the eggs aren’t freezing and cracking within minutes of being laid. Yahoo! You’ll notice a ping pong ball next to the eggs. That is there to entice the hens to lay in the nesting boxes instead of on the floor. Seems to work, though sometimes they toss it out and kick it into the corner by the door, where they like to lay. I move it back whenever they do that. Stubborn, sassy birds.

DSCN1248

 

My seedlings are doing swell. I’m finished with peppers, and have now started on some brassicas, flowers, and more herbs. Here are some picture updates on them:

Borage in the windowsill. Almost enough to make a salad.

Borage in the windowsill. Almost enough to make a salad.

Basil. Mmm. I love rubbing my hands over the leaves - the smell that's released is amazing!

Basil. Mmm. I love rubbing my hands over the leaves – the smell that’s released is amazing!

Peppers. I'll probably have around 500 when all is said and done. Their sales are going to help build a greenhouse, I hope. :)

Peppers. I’ll probably have around 500 when all is said and done. Their sales are going to help build a greenhouse, I hope. 🙂

Onions got their first haircut and were transplanted into larger flats. You should see the massive roots on these things. Most of them are on their fourth leaf, which means the onions themselves have four layers each. Hopefully this means I'll actually get decent sized bulbs this fall.

Onions got their first haircut and were transplanted into larger flats. You should see the massive roots on these things. Most of them are on their fourth leaf, which means the onions themselves have four layers each. Hopefully this means I’ll actually get decent sized bulbs this fall.

This last picture isn’t really homesteading related, but it’s beautiful to me so I’m going to post it anyway. This is our butcher block island in the kitchen after I cleared it off and oiled it up. Every time I oil it, it gets darker, richer, and so much more gorgeous. I love our island, and highly suggest this material to anyone thinking of remodeling a kitchen. Oh my. I just noticed in the picture how dusty our light is. I guess when the oil soaks in I’ll be climbing up onto the island to clean the lights. These lights – they’re amazing, but a lot of maintenance.

DSCN1258

 

