You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 29, 2015.

On Friday, the Supreme Court of the United States of America voted in a 5-4 decision to declare state bans on homosexual marriage unconstitutional. States cannot keep same-sex partners from marrying, and must now recognize their unions. Saturday, social media was filled with love, acceptance, celebration, and hope.

Then Sunday came.

Guess what happens on Sunday? People go to their churches and sit through sermons. I’m guessing many of those sermons were about this Supreme Court decision, and that those individuals giving the sermons weren’t in favor. Suddenly emboldened with their weekly injection of hate, believers took to social media and other outlets to show their united contempt for… well… love. How very Christian of them.

Since I deleted most bible-thumpers and bigots from my friends list, I didn’t have to deal with a lot of the anti-gay vitriol, but some of my friends shared things from their misguided friends. It’s sad. Even more sad was when I drove our boys to their summer school this morning and saw this sign in front of the only church along the main drag of our small town. It sits proudly on the road just before the school, so this message of hate and intolerance is on display for all to see.

11140318_10153507178291834_4589354139386188948_n 11231031_10153507178316834_4997091872126054154_n

As disgusting as those signs are, I recognize that free speech belongs to everyone. If this church wants to breed hatred, fine. But I’m going to counter it in any way I can. Friday, love won. And it’s going to continue to win. Equality and love are so much bigger than bigotry and oppression.

I support equal rights for all, no matter what your gender or sexual orientation. I just want to let everyone know that just because a sign in our little town of 600 declares a message of hate… not all of us are like that. Many of us here in this little community are good, loving people who believe in equality and don’t care who you love so long as that love is shared by consenting adults.

Love wins.

That is all. 🙂

loveislovecover

