Saturday, May 29, 2010 Oh my, I am so behind on getting my garden in now! With my hubby home for a week of fun, I didn’t get ANY new plants in the ground this past week. I still have half of my tomatoes, all of my peppers, two more kinds of onions, the cukes, the cole crops, and the beans to get in. Yikes! I sure hope we start getting some regular rain again soon, because if this hot hot weather keeps up I still won’t be able to get any crops in. The soil here is hard-packed clay, and it’s been baked solid in the sun. It’s seriously like trying to dig through rock. I’m afraid that if I try to plant anything now it will just die on me or I’ll damage it accidentally with the hard dirt clods. I guess I have to try, though. I’m thinking I’ll be hauling a lot of buckets full of water up the hill these next few days to try to soften up the ground a bit. It’s times like this that I really wish the boys were older. They could help then, instead of being a hindrance. I love them dearly, but they pretty much guarantee that everything takes four times longer than it has to with their short attention spans and penchant for trouble. We had a wonderful week with my husband here. We went to parks, an aquarium, a zoo, a Cabella’s, and got to visit with a lot of his family. He left yesterday morning for CRC down near Atlanta. Sometime in the next week or so he’ll finish with that and hop on the next flight out to Kuwait. From there, he goes into Iraq on the next available transport. I’m really trying to stay strong for him and our boys, but I do have my worries. I worry that he’ll be so hot and bored over there that he’ll resent the decision to change his career. I worry that I won’t get to hear his voice more than a few times a month, and that the boys will forget his voice altogether. I worry that he’ll be harmed somehow, or that the experience will be so dramatic a change in his life that he’ll come back a changed man. I hope he never has to see an IED or a missile up close. I hope that he isn’t witness to the carnage that comes with being in a war zone. I hope this next year just flies by so I don’t go completely crazy and have to be committed to the funny farm. I’m optimistic, too, though. I realize that even though there are a lot of negatives to this huge change in our lives, there’s also a good amount of positives. We’ll be completely free of debt in a few months. We’ll be able to save up for our own land and house. We’ll be forced to live separate lives, but maybe even that is a good thing in a way. I’ve depended on him for a lot, and I think it will be good to know that I can still do all this if something were to ever happen to him. And I’ll appreciate his presence a whole lot more once we are back together, instead of taking his open availability for granted. I’ll miss him so much! I do miss him already, but I know after a year of my sunshine being gone I’ll be reveling in the daylight when he returns. On the to-do list today, and for the next couple days probably: – Grocery shopping – Water the garden – Plant out tomatoes – Plant out peppers – Plant out cukes – Finish planting onion sets – Mulch the garden – Clean the bathroom – Do all the laundry that piled up this week – Scrub down the kitchen – Clean up the mudroom – Buy a fan for the scorching living room

